Page header image of an ore ship on Lake Superior

Officers elected at Duluth Seaway Port Authority annual meeting

March 13, 2023

Yvonne Solon
Yvonne Solon

DULUTH, Minn. — During its annual meeting held March 2, the Duluth Seaway Port Authority Board of Commissioners elected officers for the fiscal year beginning April 1, 2023.

The board elected Yvonne Solon to serve as president, succeeding Tony Sertich, who remains a board member along with Nancy Norr. This is Solon’s second appointment as president. Her first came in 1993, during a previous stint on the Duluth Seaway Port Authority board.

Other 2023 officer appointments included Patrick Boyle as vice president, Mike Jugovich as secretary, Tyrone Walker as treasurer and Rick Revoir as assistant treasurer.

Together, this septet oversees the Port Authority’s financial and organizational affairs.

The Duluth Seaway Port Authority is governed by a seven-member board – two commissioners appointed by the state’s governor, two by the St. Louis County board, and three by the Duluth City Council. Each is appointed to a six-year term, but terms have varied expiration dates. Commissioners meet monthly to set policy, approve contracts and determine budgets.

The Port Authority is an independent public agency created by the Minnesota State Legislature in 1955 to foster domestic and international maritime commerce, promote trade development, facilitate industrial development and advance port interests. The Port Authority manages the Clure Public Marine Terminal on Rice’s Point, the Duluth Airpark and Erie Pier.


Approximately 800 vessels and 35 million short tons of cargo move through the Port of Duluth-Superior each year, making it the Great Lakes’ largest tonnage port and one of the nation’s top 20. The port supports nearly 8,000 jobs and contributes $1.4 billion in business revenue to the regional economy. Learn more at