Duluth Seaway Port Authority Board elects officers at annual meeting

Friday, March 30, 2012

Duluth Seaway Port Authority Board elects officers at annual meeting

Duluth, Minn. USA - The Duluth Seaway Port Authority Board of Commissioners elected officers at the annual meeting held March 23, 2012:  Steve Raukar, president; Ray Klosowski, vice president; Cal Larson, secretary; Lowell Hellervik, treasurer; and Rick Revoir, assistant treasurer. Together with fellow board members Norm Voorhees and Chris Dahlberg of Duluth, the seven commissioners oversee the Port Authority's financial and organizational affairs.

Steve Raukar, president, has been a St. Louis County Commissioner since 1989. He was first appointed to the Port Authority in 1998 and has served as vice president since 2003. Raukar also chairs the St. Louis County Housing and Redevelopment Authority, the Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency, and the St. Louis-Lake County Regional Rail Authority. In 2008, he was elected chair of the Minneapolis-Duluth/Superior Passenger Rail Alliance (development of high-speed, inter-city passenger rail service). During his career, he has also been involved in education, advertising and mining.

Ray Klosowski, vice president, is the former executive director of the Duluth Airport Authority. He was appointed to the Port Authority by the City Council in October 2004 and had previously served as board secretary. Klosowski, a retired Brigadier General, commanded the 148th Fighter Wing at Duluth from 1989 to 1995 and the Minnesota Air National Guard from 1995 to 1997. He was inducted into the Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame in 2007 and currently serves on the board of directors for the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center in Superior, Wis.

Cal Larson, secretary, was appointed to the Port Authority by former Gov. Tim Pawlenty in November 2003 and reappointed in 2009. Larson, who began his legislative service in the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1966, was elected to the state Senate in 1986, where he served for 20 years. A native of Fergus Falls, Larson served in the U.S. Navy during the Korean War. In 2009, the Governor appointed him to a three-year term on the Minnesota Commission on National and Community Service (i.e. ServeMinnesota).

Lowell Hellervik, treasurer, was appointed to the Port Authority in April 2007 by Gov. Tim Pawlenty. Since 1989, Hellervik has served as board chair and chief executive officer of PDI Personnel Decisions International in Minneapolis, a company he co-founded in 1967 and has expanded to 30 operating offices around the world. An industrial/organizational psychologist, Hellervik consults in succession planning, leadership development, and organizational effectiveness. He is adjunct staff as a clinical associate professor at the University of Minnesota.

Rick Revoir, assistant treasurer, was appointed to the Port Authority Board of Commissioners by the Duluth City Council in August 2010 to complete two years remaining on a six-year term. Dr. Revoir has been an assistant professor in the School of Business & Technology at the College of St. Scholastica since 2004 and has led several study abroad trips to China. Prior to joining the college, Revoir worked in healthcare finance with SMDC in Duluth and St. Joseph's Medical Center in Phoenix, Ariz.  

The Duluth Seaway Port Authority is governed by a seven-member board - two commissioners appointed by the governor, two by the St. Louis County Board, and three by the Duluth City Council. The Port Authority is an independent, public agency created by the Minnesota State Legislature to foster domestic and international maritime commerce, promote trade development, facilitate industrial development, and advance port interests here and around the world.  In addition to maritime responsibilities, the Port Authority manages Clure Public Marine Terminal, Garfield Docks C&D, Duluth Airpark and Erie Pier.


For more information:  Adele Yorde, PR Manager, 218.727.8525

Return to all news.