Duluth Seaway Port Authority Director named to National Maritime Industry Advisory Panel

Monday, August 29, 2011

Duluth, Minn. USA - Duluth Seaway Port Authority Executive Director Adolph Ojard has been appointed to the new Marine Transportation System National Advisory Council (MTSNAC) by U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood.

Ojard brings to this national commission a lifetime of expertise related to the maritime industry, the vast majority of which was spent overseeing transportation logistics on the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway.  In addition, he continues to serve in several key leadership roles for industry and government policymaking.

A Great Lakes maritime and transportation veteran, Ojard has served as the Port Authority's chief executive since 2003.  For more than 30 years prior, he worked with transportation affiliates of the U. S. Steel Corporation where he held executive positions in rail, inland barging, and Great Lakes shipping. He was president of the Warrior Gulf Navigation Co. in Alabama until 1997 when he became general manager of both the DM&IR Railway and USS Great Lakes Fleet, regional railroad and vessel companies headquartered in Duluth, Minn. Ojard is currently president of the American Great Lakes Ports Association, serves as the Great Lakes representative on the AAPA Executive Committee and Legislative Policy Council, and chairs the Great Ships Initiative advisory committee. Ojard also serves on the executive committee of the University of Minnesota Center for Transportation Studies and the board of the Minnesota Agri-Growth Council,

The announcement, made by Transportation Secretary LaHood on Friday, August 26, named nearly 30 members to the new MTSNAC.  Five of those appointees represent members of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA):

  • Adolph Ojard, Executive Director, Port of Duluth, Duluth Seaway Port Authority, Duluth, MN
  • Jerry A. Bridges, Executive Director, Virginia Port Authority, Norfolk, VA
  • Omar Benjamin, Executive Director, Port of Oakland, Oakland, CA
  • James Lyons, Director and CEO, Alabama State Port Authority, Mobile, AL
  • Rick Larrabee, Director, Port Commerce Department, Port of New York/New Jersey, New York, NY

The full list of appointees is available through the Department of Transportation's website.   

 (Excerpt from the Maritime Administration News Release #:  MARAD 09-11   Date:  Aug 26 2011)

 "Shifting some of our freight from the highways to open inland waterways is a fuel-efficient, cost-effective way to move goods and reduce roadway congestion," said Secretary LaHood. "The recommendations developed by the Marine Transportation System National Advisory Council will help us increase transportation efficiency, improve the environment and grow the economy."

The Department will task the MTSNAC with developing recommendations on establishing new marine highway services and port infrastructure development, among other issues.  In creating the MTSNAC, the Department sought members with exemplary experience in serving on other government and industry maritime advisory panels.  Members were nominated through a full and open process published in the Federal Register.  For more information, contact Kim Riddle, (202) 366-5067.


Return to all news.